Create Account

The PBP process Atlas Reviews

[Ready for grading.]

<div align="center">[Image: 4jun10.png] vs [Image: aysewp.png]</div>

I recently did the play-by-play for the Texas Renegades vs Calgary Dragons game 5, and I'd like to share some thoughts about it. It was a lot of fun, honestly not too much work, and definitely a good experience for newer members to try out (not that I'm a veteran just yet).

1. P a c i n g
I like to think I'm a good typist. I can average a hair over 100 words per minute while going through an essay, hitting bursts of maybe 115 wpm or so. However, going through the game sheet and typing everything out was just a lot of work, and a lot of words. Some events are more meaningful than others, and for the purpose of not slowing the PBP pace to a crawl, have to be left out. If we look at (or rather, listen to) actual NHL commentators, the good ones manage to spit out almost every significant event that happens on the ice. Hits, shots, passes, puck movement, almost everything. Probablydrunk had the excellent idea of doing a voiced PBP, but didn't finish it due to technical difficulties. With the standard text format, it's just not possible to include all of those without taking too long to finish. I've only done one PBP ever, so I'm obviously not an authority on the subject, but I like to think I put out updates at a good, fairly steady pace. It's a pretty general balance to reach, and shouldn't be too hard for anyone, newbie or veteran.

2. Stylistics!