Create Account

Sig Making Advice from a (Fairly) Rookie Sig Maker Tips, Tricks, Best Practices, and Advice

I’m going to start by saying that I’m not claiming that to be this great or experienced sig maker. As of the writing of this article, I have made a grand total of 39 sigs. I’ve been making sigs for about 3 months, total, and had practically no exposure to photoshop prior to starting to make sigs. However, over that time, I have practiced, read tutorials, practiced, watched tutorials, practiced, sought advice from people who clearly know more than me, practiced, looked at .psds, and practiced. I think I see a huge improvement in my own sig making, and I’d imagine that you would agree. For example, here are 3 of the first sigs that I made:

[Image: 45XJ5Ir.png]
[Image: mKb74bs.jpg]
[Image: usCTW6a.jpg]

And here are three of the most recent sigs that I’ve made:

[Image: PyMy4aD.jpg]
[Image: q1ZiGvf.jpg]
[Image: SYJvjMs.jpg]

As I have worked on improving my sig making, I’ve picked up some tips and tricks that I’d like to share, specifically with people who are newer to sig making. DISCLAIMER: I AM USING PHOTOSHOP.

1: NAME YOUR LAYERS: This is like showing your work in math, or commenting in coding. It’s tedious, it’s boring, and you spend the whole time feeling like you don’t need to do it. DO IT. If you ever download .psds to study, you will get a whole lot more out of them if the person has labelled, or better yet said exactly what the purpose of that layer is. Even if you aren’t planning to share .psds, if you have to leave and come back later, you’re going to have a much easier time figuring out what adjustments you want to make if you can select “Cool starscape” to move around, instead of “Layer 5.” My sigs normally have 15-30 Layers by the time I’m done, “Layer 5” means nothing to me.