Create Account

Inside the War Room: One reporter's deep dive into Colorado's S48 draft

Inside the War Room: Colorado & the S48 Draft
By: Harry Hemmert

The Athletic’s own Harry Hemmert was given a behind the scenes look into the Colorado Raptors’ preparation for this week’s SMJHL Draft, a perspective unseen since Gary Joyce’s 2007 book, Future Greats & Heartbreaks, still available on Amazon. Follow Hemmert as he gives an up close view of roster decisions, scouting conversations, war room meetings, and the draft day itself!

When Johnny Hamilton, @hhh81  was hired as Colorado general manager last week, I breathed a sigh of relief. Covering the Raptors as closely as I have for the last 6 years, I’ve gotten to know Hamilton well from my early exposure to Cassius Darrow. A lawyer by trade, the Philadelphian has always been a strange one; emotional but not particularly warm, driven by his ego to do the best job possible. I was surprised when he asked me if I’d like to take on a story like this. It’s so rare for the media to get a chance to go behind the curtain, and Hamilton had no fear of what I’d disclose (even if he wasn’t the general manager at the time). When the announcement came out he would be promoted to GM, I knew my story could go to print. All these weeks of turning down other projects, risking my short term livelihood, would pay off.

Prepping for the S48 Draft: Disappointment, then laser focus

The Raptors had five picks in the top 21 of this season’s S48 draft (2nd, 11th, 12th, 20th, and 21st). There was hope that S48 would be as big and exciting a draft class as S45 was. When it was announced that wouldn’t be the case, Hamilton got to work immediately leveraging the prep work his team had started prior to the hire. He brought me in, in part to feed his ego, but also in part to try to help show the great work the team was doing, despite on-ice failures.