Create Account

Jhonas Ville Draft Stock Mammoths Rookie Report

Code:
ready for grading
It’s that time of year again where we look at the SHL rookies coming out of Colorado. With a small draft class and the massive trades that the Mammoths made prior to this season, they were only able to draft a single player. Introducing Colorado Mammoths #12

Jhonas Ville
Player Profile

[Image: 2012+NHL+Entry+Draft+Portraits+nnbg-_0aP2Wl.jpg]

The twenty year old net minder was picked up by Colorado late in the third round of the S27 draft. He was previously playing in the EHM league with jknox19 but was convinced to take his talents to the SMJHL. Coming in from Finland, the 6’0”, 180 lb brick wall prides himself in quick hands, excellent rebound control and an eye to see the entire sheet of ice. Even as a rookie I believe that he is going to be hard to beat.

Colorado was is in need of a backup goalie after they lost Austin Lemieux at the end of S26. Jacob Andrews (drafted in S26) was promoted to the starting position but with no other prospects in the pipeline it was important to find a secondary goalie in case things took a turn for the worse. With only three goalies in the draft class, they were lucky to snag Ville with the 21st overall. Ville would provide a safety blanket for the young expansion team, while providing pressure on Andrews to continue his development and improve to the point where he was the undeniable number 1 goalie in Colorado.