Create Account

Top Five Potential SHL Expansion Locations

Obviously, as a rookie, I have no clue how close the SHL  is to actual expansion but even if expansion is  ten or twenty seasons away, I think it’s still fun to think about where an expansion team should go. Now I did this for the PBE before but the  SHL is a lot different because It’s a hockey league. While baseball is becoming an international sport and leagues like the KBO and NPB are growing in popularity, it’s still not nearly as popular internationally as hockey is.  So there’s going to be a lot more teams outside of  North America on this list then the PBE one.

1. Moscow, Russia 

This one might be a bit shocking but I’m a big proponent of putting a professional hockey team in Russia. I don’t think it’ll ever happen in the NHL because of the logistics involved and because of the fact that there’s been quite a bit of bad blood between the KHL and the NHL over the years. In the SHL, we don’t have to worry about any of that so I think Moscow deserves its own team. Russia has the greatest legacy in international hockey outside of North America. The 1974 Summit Series and the 1979 Challenge Series are two of the most legendary events in hockey history. As is the 1980  Winter Olympic Gold Medal game. It's also the second-most populous city in Europe and the 11th largest city on earth so they should have no problem supporting an SHL Team.

Team Name Suggestions:  Moscow Bruins (Russia's National Animal is the Bear and Bruins is a legendary hockey team name so I think it fits.), Moscow Tsars (Essentially the Russian version of a  King or Emperor,  I could see this name fitting a  Moscow-based Hockey team well.), Moscow Kalashnikovs (This is the one I would go with because I just think it's cool. I also think there's a natural rivalry built-in with the Baltimore Platoon as well.)

2. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania