Create Account

Nictox Agency Looking For Talent in France

Amiens, France -- French U16 Tournament

Nic Tox here reporting from the French U16 tournament held in Amiens, France. Amiens, as you may know, is home to one of only hockey rinks big enough to host a tournament in all of France. I am here today to start scouting for future star players. While I am not a team scout, I am an agent looking for young talent. I have managed some great people from different leagues and sports even. Most notable players I have (or still do) manage. Nicholas Wilson of the GOMHL, Nic Wilson of the PBE (is actually the nephew of the hockey player), Mac Elephant of the ISFL, and Nicholas Williams of the SHL. Lots of Nic’s with some form of Will for a last name. Strange eh? Anyways, I’ve heard rumblings of a couple good players in this French tournament that could be real difference makers in the SHL. Rumors of high skilled, fast forwards as well as tough, big shutdown defenseman. I am not sure what I am looking for yet, but I know they are in this tournament.

The first day at the rink is always exciting. I grab my coffee, notepad, and cell phone as I make my way through the crowd to a press box seat. I sit in silence for a few moments and go over the list of players who will be eligible for the S58 SHL entry level draft. Now part of my job is to not only prep these kids to make it to the big leagues, it is to get them overseas into the SMJHL where more SHL teams can scout them. I see 5 names on the list of players who fit the bill. Over the course of this tournament I will write about each and eventually pick one to represent. As I write the names of each player on top of a section of my notepad, I hear the buzzer go off. The first two teams come out for their warm up skates.

Up first we have the Bombers versus the Lions. Three of the players on my list will be playing in this game. Two on the Lions and one on the Bombers. This brings us to our first couple pre-game reports.