Create Account

[x2 Draft Media] A Look at the New NE Wolfpack Pups

As a first-gen S57 rookie, I didn’t know much about the SHL Entry Draft and everything surrounding it, but I’ve done some research and I’m ready to dissect the new rookies drafted by the New England Wolfpack. After the big trade that saw the Massachusetts’ based team land the first overall pick, experts (I wouldn’t say I’m one) agreed that the Wolfpack was poised to acquire many players that would shape the future of their franchise. With three picks in the first round, including two in the top ten, and an additional pick in the middle of the second round, things were shaping up nicely, but they just had to pick the right players to make the most of this opportunity. 

Round 1 – Pick 1 – 1st Overall – C Jonathan Granström (363 TPE)

Many people expected the Detroit Falcons player centerman to get drafted with the first overall pick back when it was owned by the Tampa Bay Barracuda and to the delight of every mock draft owners, they decided to draft Granström with the first overall pick after all. The centerman had a decent first season with the struggling Falcons down in the SMJHL, with 15 points in about ten minutes of ice-time. He also had a good defensive presence with 54 hits and 72 shots blocked in his first full season. He is a good TPE earner and he has a nice amount of money accumulated in his bank account to make sure he can still train his player appropriately. An overall strong choice for a future top 6 player, there’s no doubt about that.

Round 1 – Pick 9 – 9th overall – RW Brennan Huff (325 TPE)