Create Account

New Beginnings
(This post was last modified: 07-01-2021, 05:17 PM by Tayjay.)

Code:
Ready to Be Graded
1155 words
It has been a long time since I have had a chance to reflect on my Simulation Hockey League career. Most people know that I was a undrafted free agent in the Juniors League and ended up winning a cup in my first season. Fast forward to the draft where Toronto drafted me near the end of the second round. I was incredibly excited to land with the North Stars since there were a few of my Anaheim teammates already rostered. They were also going through an extensive rebuild and I was chomping at the bit to be a part of that new core. Now as I enter my 8th season, 6th in the SHL, I have had to find a new home. I always thought it was a possibility that I would be exposed since I wasn’t a max earner and our GM had done a great job of building up one of the best pipelines of talent, but that doesn’t mean that it didn’t suck at the same time. I had grown from a fringe 3rd liner to a solid 2nd line contributor. Even though we only had 1 playoff appearance in those 5 seasons, we showed continued growth every year and in our only playoff appearance we were 1 game away from the Finals. To say leaving the team just as we trend into our championship window was hard is an understatement.