Create Account

From the North, to the Northern North

Things can change really, really quickly in the SHL.

When the Toronto North Stars made Louise St. Martin the 14th pick in the Season 64 draft, I was a relatively unknown commodity who'd only spent half a season in the J. The Toronto team that drafted me was under new management and had just kicked off a major rebuild. Hell, they'd go on to pick four players in the first round of that draft, and five more in the second. 

While I spent that season balling out in my first full J season, making first team all-J and winning the Light Award for Most Improved Player while placing second in scoring by defenders, the Stars were...terrible. But the building blocks were being put in place for the team I'd start my career with. True, Harry Carpet and Yuuto Kira Cloudera Jr were already there, but besides that it was mostly prospects (and Ruslan Zaporozhets who, while he retired before I graduated to the SHL, was still contributing in his final seasons and was a strong LR presence).

Then, the front office got wheeling and dealing, and put together a truly great group of people. Jimmy Larkin-Conway (and Shane Duffy Jr) came in from Winnipeg for picks. A slew of even more picks got shipped out to Hamilton to bring in Dogwood Maple and Ty Murphy. Another pick to the Patriotes for a fellow prospect in Connor O'Byrne. (And I'd be remiss if I excluded Jimmy Slothface, who was retiring but had his swan song with the Stars.)

Those guys would finish out a pretty dismal season (just 19 wins and a first round demolition in the playoffs at the hands of the Baltimore Platoon), but started to build the foundation of the team we became.