Create Account

Matviy Cajabi interview [2x Draft Media]
(This post was last modified: 01-28-2024, 08:02 AM by bobdigi9. Edited 1 time in total.)

This article has been translated from Ukrainian media outlet "Our Sport"

Joining us today is Matviy Cajabi, who has decided to take his hockey skills to North America and try to become a pro in the SHL.

OurSport: Thanks for joining us today, Matviy. How are you? Some of our readers may not be aware of the SMJHL. What can you tell us about the league and the draft process?

Matviy Cajabi: Thank you for having me! I'm doing great. excited. nervous. Draft tomorrow. This is my first time being drafted in any league I've played in. I've always just been in a team, so this experience is completely new to me.
To be honest, I didn't know much about the SMJHL or the SHL before coming to North America. One of my coaches advised me to move here to showcase my skills and improve my hockey future. I talked to some of the teams, so now I know a little bit more, like some of the teams' names.

OS: What was that experience like with the different teams?

MC: It was a little scary at first. Of course, my English is not very good, so I had to rely on my translator. I try to answer in English when I can. But I feel like I'm getting more comfortable with each interview. Most of these players that are in my draft class are used to it, so they know what to expect. I became friends with a few of them and it made it easier for me and more fun. Alexa Johansen went out of her way to make me feel at home, so I really appreciate her and all the players I got to talk to and get to know.

OS: You've never played in North America before. How well do you think your game will adapt to these leagues?