Create Account

Rookie Goalies: How they doin'?
(This post was last modified: 01-13-2019, 11:17 PM by LGRW613.)

(963 words)

Hey y'all! I figured as a nice compliment to the awesome 'Top 10 Rookies Partway through the season' article that Lynxfire wrote up, I would do a goalie version! To be completely transparent here, I want to state first and foremost that I AM ALSO A ROOKIE GOALIE. However, I'm only using the stats, which I've put into a Google Sheets page linked below. Hopefully you all enjoy!

Let's start with my favourite stat, Games Played. I know it's not a fancy stat, but it's always nice to see rookies getting a starting job from the get go. The grand champion here is Casimir Stevens of the Vancouver Whalers Whalers . He paces all rookie goalies, having played in 26 of his teams 27 games! In 2nd place, we have a tie between Mike McKorsy (Halifax Raiders raiders ) and Patrice Nadeau (Lethbridge Lions Lions ), with 24 games played each. What's been interesting is that 7 rookie goalies have played in over 50% of their teams games this season, with Tibok Soonika (Anaheim Outlaws Outlaws ) JUST missing the mark, with 13 GP out of 28 games. 

Now, on to the stats we're all wondering about. I'm talking Sv% and GAA. These are stats that really show which rooks are flourishing with their teams. I was going to write all these stats out, but after seeing the data and how all over the place it is, I'm just going to make a list for you guys.

Sv%                                                                          GAA

1. Lee Marshall Scarecrows  (0.917)                                   1. Lee Marshall Scarecrows  (2.05)
2. Tibok Soonika Outlaws  (0.913)                                 2. Peter Larson Armada  (2.26)
3. Aleksi O'Koivu-Volkova Militia  (0.907)                     3. Tibok Soonika Outlaws  (2.28)
4. Peter Larson Armada /Yuri Ushakov Raptors  (0.898)     4. Aleksi O'Koivu-Volkova Militia  (2.32)