Create Account

(GRADED) Deep Dive #1 - Colorado Raptors
(This post was last modified: 04-26-2021, 04:22 PM by leafs1997.)

Deep Dive # 1
2021/4/26
Colorado Raptors

This is my first attempt at a “Deep Dive” contribution.  My intent here is to take a look at the Colorado Raptors and some of the individuals who are playing for the team.  Before progression, I have recently signed with the Raptors for the current season as an undrafted rookie.  I would like to take the opportunity of thanking @LordBirdman for giving Rinky McDangle the chance to play for a very competitive team.

[Image: Du8USPBkzScwy3mf8tJxJ3zednafG-aM2G73EPPq...lLOBjeq-M6]

I chose to sign, for at least this season, with the Raptors because a.) the contract seemed very lucrative and b.) the team has been consistently competitive.  The Raptors have made the playoffs each year since Season 53.  In recent attempts for a league championship the Raptors have stumbled in Round 2.  Overall, the team seems to be a middle of the road team as far as the standings are concerned from year to year.  However, having said that, this season (Season 59) the Raptors are off to a great 11 - 4 - 3 start, amassing 25 points which puts then in second place overall in the league.  Second only to the Kelowna Knights who are 3 points ahead with a game in hand.

Before beginning to discuss some of the Raptor’s personnel, I would like to forewarn readers that I will be referring to Corsi and Fenwick analytic metrics.  To keep it simple, and to not get tied up with the math, Corsi basically refers to the total number of shot attempts a player makes regardless of what happens to the shot  Fenwick is a lot like Corsi but it does not include the shots that are blocked.  For some reason unknown to me, Corsi has a lot more love than does Fenwick, but each metric has its own merits.