Create Account

SHL Imperialism Map S61
(This post was last modified: 08-28-2021, 12:32 PM by Aleris.)

Welcome one and all to my new series, that I hope to have a lot of fun with. Over my travels on the internet I have seen a number of “Imperialism Maps” dealing with counties that are closest to a team’s city. While I am no pro with ArcGIS or Photoshop. I thought it would be fun to have a battle of territory during the regular season.

The rules are pretty simple. If a team loses to another, they give their territory to that team. Unfortunately, I’m not good enough to figure out the exact sizes of territories or number of counties (maybe next season). For now, I will keep track of how many territories of a team that is controlled. So to start, all teams will have a score of 1. After the first games, there will be 10 SHL (7 SMJHL) teams that control 2 territories. From there, it should be a mix up.  I’m curious to see how this plays out. I think there’s enough parity that we won’t see 2-3 teams dominating the map quickly.

Now, I’m not going to post a new map every day. I plan to post a map every week, with a gif at the end of how the map changed throughout the season. Now let’s get into a break down of the base maps!

SHL Map

Kicking it off with the SHL Map. We can see the flaws of maps are abundant. My projection makes the territory above the Arctic Circle massive, but also Canada is just massive as well. We can see that the east coast is as crowded as a clown car. Poor Buffalo, Manhattan, and Philadelphia owning the smallest territories. As we move away from New York, teams are able to get breathing room, with the exception of San Francisco smashed between Seattle and Los Angeles. The largest areas probably go to Winnipeg or Seattle, it’s tough to judge, as Alaska is appears smaller than it actually is, and central Canada is an empty void of wheat and sky.

[Image: SHL_MAP_0.png]

SMJHL Map