Create Account

Making the Play - 4/18

[Image: CdItJwS.png]

Hey everybody, Gunnar here again. Hard to believe it’s time to write another one of these again already. Life really does kind of go in cycles, doesn’t it? This year marks the tenth full season since I was called up to Tampa (not counting the like...three playoff games I played at the end of S48), which absolutely blows my mind. Ten years I’ve been living my childhood dreams, and even though you do sort of fall into those cycles, the lather/rinse/repeat of it all, I still wake up every morning and am a little overwhelmed by how lucky I am that I get to do this for a living.

Another interesting little stat - this will be my sixth season in Chicago - which means that for the first time, I have played for this team longer than I have played anywhere else in my career. And if we’re being realistic, it would be pretty unlikely for anything to change that at this point. I’m not close to retiring just yet, but I’d be pleasantly surprised if I had another six seasons left in me even if I ended up somewhere else tomorrow (which I really must stress I absolutely do not want to do). So I think every game I play this season is just going to further the legacy this city and this team have left in my heart. Chicago is home - it has been for a while now and I think it will be, maybe forever, it’s just as much a part of me as Luleå where I grew up.